Thread: Ignore or not
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 09:24pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
If the batter throws his bat and hits the ball, he has interfered with the catcher's attempt to field the ball. That is Interference, and the batter is out. Runners return to their TOP bases. Rule 7-3-6 and PENALTY.
In the OP, the discarded bat did not hinder catcher fielding the ball, the catcher's wild throw was the issue/question. It is not clear whether pitched ball was fair or foul but it was clearly not a batted ball. 7-3-6 is about a thrown bat.

So it appears that defense erred in throwing a wild pitch and offense is penalized because bat discarded contacts the pitch that has not been secured by the catcher.

Need something other than 7-3-6 to convince me this is INT, for this OP.
Reply With Quote