Thread: Ignore or not
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 03:13pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post

If the batter throws his bat and hits the ball, he has interfered with the catcher's attempt to field the ball. That is Interference, and the batter is out. Runners return to their TOP bases. Rule 7-3-6 and PENALTY.


Wrong rule.

The proper rule is 8-4-1a, and the batter is only out if the umpire judges that he intentionally hit the ball with his discarded bat.

Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote