View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:24am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
2. Player is in the corner. Attempts to make a pass to the other corner. Well the rim was in the way and launches the ball into the backcourt. Offense recovers the ball in the backcourt. *whistle* "Over and back" I could be wrong on this one, but I believe you have to consider that a shot and it's legal to retrieve the ball (please correct me if I'm wrong). I did correct the call because it was a pivotal point in the game (hopefully I got it right).
The rules do not require you to consider it a shot: it's up to you to determine whether it's a shot. You reported that it was a pass, in which case you had a BC violation.

HOWEVER, I don't know anyone who would rule that this was a pass. The relevant case has already been posted: during a try, there's no team control and so a BC violation is not possible in this case. So in practice I'd say you got it right.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote