View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 26, 2009, 11:38am
Stat-Man Stat-Man is offline
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
[NFHS Rules] Sequence of events

MS Girls

Team B is whistled for a shooting foul against A.
Immediately after the shooting foul call, the second official notices Team A has 6 players on the court and calls the T.

Team B shoots two free throws and gets the ball.

Official calling the T says Team A wasn't entitled to the free throws for the shooting since they were playing with 6 players.

I do know that the T for 6 players is called when discovered, but I didn't think it nullified any other action.

I was under the impression that when you have a personal foul followed by a T, the fouls are administered in the order in which they occurred/were called. In this situation, I was under the impression Team A got to shoot the shooting foul and Team B would shoot the technical free throws and get the ball at half court.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote