Thread: Backcourt?
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 04:37pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Irrelevant.

Why?

Because a player jumping from OOB will have committed a violation as soon as they touch the ball no matter if it was tipped or not and without regard to where they land.

A player, A1, jumping from thier FC to catch a throwin and landing in their backcourt may or may not be guilty of a violation depending on whether another player first touched the ball or not....as in a defender getting a fingertip on the ball just before A1 catches the ball.

The rule SHOULD be that the exception would apply until a team gains control of the ball (not just until the throwin ends)....and if such control is gained by an airborne player, that player is allowed a normal landing. I'm less inclined to make any argument that the exception should apply through a catch/pass to a teammate in the backcourt.
The only reason I asked this question was to respond to your comment about the principle of player location not applying to a backcourt violation until a player lands. To me that's just another exception we would need to remember.

Fwiw, I don't particularly like the throw-in exception; I would prefer all throw-ins be handled with all the normal player location and team control/player control rules in effect. But the committee decided to add the TI exception and the "good defense" exception to the backcourt violation. Ok. At least they kept other aspects in place - the TI exception ends when the TI ends. That's what makes this play easy enough for me - there's no additional "exceptions" to remember.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote