Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat
My instincts say that as soon as B2 "palms" it I would consider that as possession and call it dead there on the 2. End of series for A.
|
First, I agree that this play is HTBT.
But I don't like this answer much, and given that the ball ended up in the EZ before anyone was holding the ball securely, ruling that B2 had "possession" smacks of making things easier for the officials. Given the outcome, B2 is going to have to hold the ball and maybe take a step before I'll say he had possession.
Remember the definition of 'possession' in 2-34: "A ball in player possession is a live ball held or controlled by a player after it has been handed or snapped to him, or after he has caught or recovered it." B2 "flipping" or "scooping" the ball does not seem to meet the test of holding or controlling the ball
after recovering it.
The other point I would make here: the proper football play here is for B2 to jump on this ball and pull it to his chest. If he does something else, he is not demonstrating clear possession and so not entitled to the benefit of the doubt.
So, I'd lean toward illegal batting in the OP. If A takes the penalty, half the distance from the 2 and repeat the down. If A takes the play, safety. If B will have a turn next in OT, A might want the penalty.