View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 09, 2002, 12:44pm
ScottParks ScottParks is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 285
Case Book Play 4.43.5

4.43.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating? Ruling: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.
This clearly talks about what a player can do with control of the ball while on the floor on their back or stomach. There is no ambiguity here.
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it.
Reply With Quote