View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 09, 2002, 12:39pm
devdog69 devdog69 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff the Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by kmref
There is no back-court violation on a thow-in. Front court status is based on all 3 pts over the division line. Because there is no beginning status of the player that is considered...
1st ex: only 2 pts
in front court
2nd ex: only 2 pts
The 3 points "rule" only applies when a player is dribbling the ball. It has nothing to do with this situation.

This is not a BC violation because it meets the requirements for 9-9 Exception 1. Catching the ball after leaving the floor in the FC, does establish team control and FC status. But Exception 1 allows the player to land in the BC, with either or both feet.

EXCEPTION 1: It is not a violation when after a jump ball or a throw-in, a player is the first to secure control of the ball while both feet are off the floor and he/she then returns to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.
Yes..I agree, but does not A2 in example 1 return to the floor in the front court first?
I see where you are going... when the first foot came down we had fc status, then the foot down in b/c...it would have to be a very significant delay between the feet coming down for me to "see it that way", i.e., if we had the one legged swan standing on one foot in the f/c, then finally putting the other foot down in the b/c, i might call that.
__________________
Church Basketball "The brawl that begins with a prayer"
Reply With Quote