View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 09, 2002, 12:36pm
Ref in PA Ref in PA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
The book says this

Rule 9-9-2 applies to your situation, but has two exceptions. The first exception has to do with a jump ball and a throw-in. The second is a defensive steal. These exceptions basically say it doesn't matter where the player was when he jumped - ball possession was secured in the air and team possesion location is established when the player returns to the ground. There is a note for these exceptions and quoted here:

"NOTE: The exceptions allow a player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt."

So, if you think the landing was normal - no violation; abnormal - violation. Isn't this easy?



Reply With Quote