View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 09, 2002, 12:28pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by kmref
There is no back-court violation on a thow-in. Front court status is based on all 3 pts over the division line. Because there is no beginning status of the player that is considered...
1st ex: only 2 pts
in front court
2nd ex: only 2 pts
The 3 points "rule" only applies when a player is dribbling the ball. It has nothing to do with this situation.

This is not a BC violation because it meets the requirements for 9-9 Exception 1. Catching the ball after leaving the floor in the FC, does establish team control and FC status. But Exception 1 allows the player to land in the BC, with either or both feet.

EXCEPTION 1: It is not a violation when after a jump ball or a throw-in, a player is the first to secure control of the ball while both feet are off the floor and he/she then returns to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote