View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 01:07pm
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Rantings about whether this "new" rule is good or bad aside, the L should have the call on a secondary defender sliding in on a drive to the bucket. How else have you been doing it Tio???
The lead has the best chance to get it right. Some officials still think they get first crack if the drive comes from their area even on a secondary defender. I don't like this because 1. There is no way the outside official is able to see the whole play on the legal guarding position of the secondary defender. 2. Now with the new rule, the lead is really the only one who can make a determination on whether the defender was under the cylinder. Crews that trust each other will be fine with the new rule, crews that don't will be in trouble.
Reply With Quote