Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
|
It's in my baseball lexicon, and others', and you are
really reaching. Don't pull a muscle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
Just because R3 touches the plate before the pitch is released does not mean he has stolen the base. If the pitch is batted foul it is not a stolen base. If the pitch is strike 3 with 2 outs then it is not a stolen base.
A balk is somewhat different as you could have a balk and a stolen base on the same play. But yes, the umpire should call time and enforce the balk. R3 is sliding in as F1 stops his motion. The guy did not steal third base before anything else happened as you claimed. He was on third base at the time of the pitch. You seed to be thinking that noting happened before he stole the base. But that is not what happened; the pitcher started his motion.
|
I never said he stole third base ... never. I said he stole home, which he did. There was no balk, there was no pitch, there was no other runner on, there weren't two strikes on the batter, the runner started at third, and he stole home before anything else happened.
Why, according to Official Baseball Rules, would an umpire call a balk on this play?