I don't know NC2A or NFHS football rules, but let me get this straight... if I am wrong please corect me. (I'm Canadian and we use our own rules here.)
The clock stops in this sitch (1st down) with 0.9 seconds left.
The clock starts on the ready for play with the referee's signal to start the clock. If A has to wait 1 second after the RFP whistle before they can snap the ball, the the snap of the ball MUST come after time has expired.
My question is this: I know in the NFL (please no comments...) the snap has to come before time expires. Does NC2A or NFHS rules stipulate that the snap must come before time expires?
If so, then essentially, in this situation, the game is over at any time the clock reads less than 1 second. (If my logic is wrong, please let me know.)
If not, then why do some plays require 1 second before the snap and other don't?
Mike
Quote:
Originally posted by Nyjets
Here is the play regarding a hurry up situation. Team A doesn't have any timeouts remaining, and just gained a first down inbounds. The clock is stopped to move the chains, but will start with the ready for play. Team A comes up to the ball and gets set with the snapper placing his hand on the ball. The umpire tells the snapper to wait for the whistle before snapping the ball. The very moment he hears the whistle blow, he snaps the ball and the QB spikes the ball immediately. Is this a legal play? Does the snapper have to wait for any certain amount of time after hearing the ready before snapping the ball? Remember, all members of the offense were set and just waiting for the whistle to blow. Your thoughts will be appreciated!
|
[Edited by JugglingReferee on Dec 6th, 2002 at 03:40 PM]