Thread: Rule 6.05 (k)
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 16, 2009, 10:50pm
Matt Matt is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11 View Post
Obviously, as JM pointed out, a safe play at the plate followed by runners lane INT, run scores because of intervening play.

But would a play at another base qualify as intervening?

1) Intervening play on a R1 or R2
2) R3 touches home
3) Runner's lane interference

...or...

1) R3 touches home
2) Intervening play on another runner
3) Runner's lane interference

Run is good on situation 2 for sure, but situation 1? The wording JM provided would say yes, all runners get TOI once any intervening play takes place (otherwise we'd have to start forcing runners along in certain situations). I'm inclined to agree, but can't find a rule citation.
How could you have an intervening play at any base but home? If the throw to 1B comes from anywhere but the vicinity of home, you cannot have runner's lane interference.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote