View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 12:35pm
nopachunts nopachunts is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Gameplay situation I need a ruling on

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
Briefly, I am of the opinion, that once the third out has been recorded, the BR no longer has the responsibility to touch 1st base.
I agree with your opinion if no runners have scored during the play. I will disagree if a runner has scored where the BR was retired for the third out. By rule, if the BR did not reach 1B safely where he would be the third out, no runner can score.

In the OP, Fivesdadda is asking if R3 could score if R3 crossed the plate prior to R2 being tagged out for the third out. If 1B was open and the BR never safely attained 1B, R3's run would not count even though R3 crossed HP prior to R2 being tagged.
Reply With Quote