View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 08, 2009, 06:24pm
Dave Reed Dave Reed is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I agree that OBR clearly states R3 returns on this play. Are you sure that NCAA returns runners to the TOP base and not the TOI base?
Not Rich, but NCAA 2-50:
A.R. 1—If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was touched legally at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provide by these rules. The ball is dead.
A.R. 2—If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference.


So, TOP if B/R hasn't reached 1st at the time of interference; otherwise TOI. In my opinion, this is a good construct.
Reply With Quote