View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 08, 2009, 12:03pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
The whole issue onthe SB side is whether it's a force out which would cancel the run, or bascally a time play which would allow the run.

In OBR it doesn't matter because:

7.08 Any runner is out when—
(f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance.


In NCAA it doesn't matter because:

SECTION 2. The ball becomes dead and base runners return when:
e. A fair-hit ball touches a runner in fair territory before touching an
infielder or an umpire and before passing all infielders, other than the
pitcher. Runner(s) advance if forced


In FED the dead ball table says runners return unless forced but I can't find it in the rules proper.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote