View Single Post
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:22am
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
ASA: 8-7-j.
Quote:
ASA 8.7.j
When a runner interferes:
1. With a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3. With a thrown ball

Effect: If this interference, in the umpire's judgment is an attempt to prevent a double play and occurs before the runner is put out, the immediate trailing runner shall be called out.

4. Intentionally with any defensive player having the opportunity to make an out with the deflected batted ball.

Effect: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
What if it isn't an attempt to prevent a double play?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote