View Single Post
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 10:55am
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Two responses.

One, the BR didn't commit any act of interference; R2 did. R2 is out, and BR is awarded first base, UNLESS the umpire judges an intentional act of interference. So, not an automatic ruling; and many players could make the interference look unintentional, or at least put intent in doubt.
Steve, INT on a fly ball, fair OR foul results in the runner AND the BR being declared out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Two, to prove the original question, even if you add the judgment of intentional interference, simply change the play to no outs. R1 scores when there is interference on a fly ball.
Yes, this would be the stickler. Granted that would have to be one speedster on third or the ball was it a mile high.
Reply With Quote