View Single Post
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 09:31am
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.
However, the BR is also declared out for the act of interference, and no run can score when the BR doesn't reach first base, no?
Reply With Quote