To reiterate what Camron states, and to avoid confusing the less veteran officials here, I think we need to avoid throwing stuff into rules (or subtle interpretations) that are not part of the rule.
Stating that a defender "just can't" get setup in less than a step is false. You'll have well intentioned officials such as Rainmaker telling coaches they called a block "because B1 didn't give A1 a step to stop or alter course"
There is no such provision in the rule, as others have noted.
The laws of physics say that if B1 is quick enough to get in front of A1 in less than a step, then he got there!!
We have enough coaches & fans quoting "basketball myths" to us referess, we don't need to perpetuate the myths ourselves.
dk
|