The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 04, 2000, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 55
To reiterate what Camron states, and to avoid confusing the less veteran officials here, I think we need to avoid throwing stuff into rules (or subtle interpretations) that are not part of the rule.

Stating that a defender "just can't" get setup in less than a step is false. You'll have well intentioned officials such as Rainmaker telling coaches they called a block "because B1 didn't give A1 a step to stop or alter course"
There is no such provision in the rule, as others have noted.

The laws of physics say that if B1 is quick enough to get in front of A1 in less than a step, then he got there!!

We have enough coaches & fans quoting "basketball myths" to us referess, we don't need to perpetuate the myths ourselves.

dk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1