"but if he chose to [run the bases], he needed to do it legally"
I've never heard of this one. As soon as the ball hits over the fence, the runs count. No appeals.
Here's one, though:
R1 on 1B. Batter hits a very high drive down the left-field line. The ball is obviously going to clear the fence. R1 stands just off 1B and admires it, or thinks it's going to be foul and doesn't run. The BR rounds 1B and passes R1 before the (fair) ball hits on the other side of the fence.
If ASA follows its ruling regarding a foul fly ball, the BR should be called out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|