Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev.
Our crew study group came up with this one tonight...at first I thought it was straight forward but I want to see what you guys think...
The score A-6, B-7 with 1 minute to play in the game. A's ball 4th and goal at the 10. A1 throws a legal forward pass which is intercepted by B1 in the end zone. B1 immediately after making the catch in celebrating his teams stop of A throws the ball which lands at the 20 yard line. B1 was never down.
Ruling:
|
I'ld say its a touchback (NFHS rules). Penalty enforced from the 20 yard line.
Here's my logic, feel free to disagree if you have a point to make as its an interesting situation.
Force that put the ball into the endzone was the throwing team, which I think is the main factor in determining touchback or safety. Defender caught the ball in the endzone, still a live ball in the endzone, but the force putting it in the endzone was the offense not defense. When he throws the ball forward, it is an illegal incomplete forward pass (if the opposing team would have caught it, its theirs because its still live till it hits the ground). But since it went incomplete, it became a dead ball with the spot of enforcement the point where he threw the ball, which is still in the endzone. But because the force into the endzone was still originally applied by the other team, its still a touchback and the penalty is enforced from the 20.
Anybody else have any opinions? Not saying I'm right, just my understanding of the rules.