View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 10:44am
Jim D. Jim D. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're not disagreeing. Rich said that in order to be called properly, BIB must be:

a. at the point of attack OR
b. a PF

For (a) we look at advantage/disadvantage. For (b) we call the foul because of safety, even if the block is well away from the play. Why give the appearance that you're correcting Rich, when he got it exactly right?
I made my comments because Rich was not very precise on what he meant by a "garden variety BIB".

While I'm sure Rich and other experienced officials know what to call, there are a lot of newer officials who read these posts and we need to be careful that we present things properly. BIB is always a foul by rule - if it's minor contact away from the play, we may not flag it since it would be neither a dangerous play nor would it give a team an advantage. If it's a solid hit (not necessarily a PF in that it's was an excessive hit), it should still be called regardless of the position on the field.

Last edited by Jim D.; Thu Jul 30, 2009 at 11:10am.
Reply With Quote