View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 12:40pm
bisonlj bisonlj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
one small clarification: I think NCAA rule says that Team A may not bat a backwards pass forward in an attempt to gain yardage. (my emphasis)...which means, I suppose, there are instances where it'd be OK for A to bat forward. (say a backwards pass was about to be intercepted by B, and A's only play was to bat it--forward--away from B.)
Rule 9-4-1a
While a pass is in flight, any player eligible to touch the ball may bat it in any direction (Exception: Rule 9-4-2)

Rule 9-4-2
A backward pass in flight shall not be batted forward by the passing team.

Your assumption is incorrect by rule. I'm not sure if the philosophy of this rule though matches what you say. The definition of batting is "intentionally striking it or intentionally changing its direction with the hands or arms." The definition of a muff is "an unsuccessful attempt to catch or recover a ball that it touched in the attempt." In the play you describe you could possibly call it a muff if you want to let it go.
Reply With Quote