Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Your post contradicts itself: the first paragraph suggests that the umpire called it wrong on purpose, but the second suggests that he blew it because it's a tough call at that level. What are you saying?
|
I'll rephrase, it happens all the time that umpires might miss a call when the fielder tags with the glove and the ball in hand.
Especially at high levels (players that shave) because the action is so fast and the players, like Pedroia did quickly put the ball in his glove as he moved out of the play.
When the umpire saw the glove, the ball was in it since Pedroia was on the outfield side of the bag making the tag.
I would never suggest that an umpire makes a call wrong on purpose, but in the spirit of the debate, if the ball is there long before the runner, yes most umpires will call the out.
Thanks
DAvid