Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong
(c) He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base.
As you see, this rule only protects the catcher at home base. To apply this rule the act must occur at the plate, not down the line. I've probably got nothing unless the batter did something else besides just run to first. Dont forget the fact that the catcher threw the ball to first? also. Dont reward him for throwing to the wrong base. (R1 was walking towards 2nd) Typical LL play here - time for coaches to do their jobs here......Play on!!
|
Operative word here is
OR....the play
DOES NOT only have to occur at home plate. Same verbage in both rule sets.
LLBB Official Rules 6.06(c) and LLBB Casebook Pg. 22-23.
OBR MLB 6.06(c)