
Mon Jul 06, 2009, 01:10am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFump
one out, man on first base. count is 2-2 on the batter. pitcher throws ball 3. batter thinks it is ball 4 and starts to run to first base. the runner on 1st thinks it must be ball 4 also and starts to walk to 2nd. the catcher, knows it is ball 3 and now attempts to pick the runner off at 1st base off since he is moving so slowly. the thrown ball by the catcher now hits the batter-runner and the runner on first now makes it to second. what is the ruling?
Who is this batter? Mercury? What did he do......leave for first as the pitcher started to pitch? Do you actually think the catcher waited that long to throw down to first? Please show me where it states he's way out in front of F2 or has even reached the running lane much less whether or not he's in it (like it matters in this case), but let's roll with it.
The BATTER is halfway (35 to 45 feet) to first when catcher "pegs" him in the back, has the BATTER stepped out of the box? Well yes he has. Did he interfere with the catcher's throw to retire a runner? Yep, knocked it down with his back as he was running (in the running lane no less) to first. Is he guilty of Batter's Interference? Absoforkinlutely!
Here's how I see it: The BATTER is most likely just clearing the lefty batter's box and getting directly in front of F2 AS HE IS THROWING to first. That's not an "errant throw", "poor defense", "a crappy throw"or "poor aim". IT'S INTERFERENCE. Nor is it any of those in your example, IT'S INTERFERENCE.
6.8 BATTER INTERFERES WITH CATCHER
Under Official Baseball Rule 6.06(c), if the batter interferes with the catcher's THROW TO RETIRE A RUNNER by STEPPING OUT OF THE BATTER'S BOX, the plate umpire SHALL call "interference". The batter is OUT and the ball is dead(provided the catcher's initial throw does not retire the runner; see following paragraph). And so on and so forth. (notice is says "shall")
MLBUM 6.10 BATTER INTERFERES WITH CATCHER'S THROW BACK TO PITCHER (notice it says throw).
Skip on down to the second paragraph, last two lines where it says:
If the batter interferes with the catcher's THROW TO RETIRE A RUNNER by stepping out of the batter's box, interference SHALL be called on the batter under Official Baseball Rule 6.06(c). (See Section 6.8)
To reiterate....Did the batter step out of the box? Yes
Did the catcher throw in an attempt to retire a runner? Yes
Did batter interfere with said throw? Yes
Is it an out? You bet your bippy.
|
Wow.....I am sorry you see it that way....all of the above IMHO is being VERY poorly applied to the OP....Just my opinion, so we can just agree to disagree....but, again, WOW!!!!
|