Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No where does it explicitly state that LGP is required to start closely guarded. I have to ask, would you start counting in Camron's play?:
|
As I said before NO count in Camron situation since they did not face each other. Sitiation 9.10.1C quite clearly says when a count has to be started. The "closely guarded" count rule is in Rule 9 not rule 4.10.
As you know the interpretations and rulings for all play situations have been approved by the rules committee and are "OFFICIAL"
Therefore please read situation 9.10.1c when a count should start and explain to me how camrons example fits is.
becasue something is obvious to some, it might not be in the rule book
Now to anwer the direction question
A1 defender is facing his/her FC and has both feet on court standing there. B1 comes along and faces A1 torso (LGP). B1 moves 45 % from A1 into the 6 foot radius. Count starts. A1 runs straight. B1 passes header and shoulder of A1. Count stops so direction ha NO bearing for a count.
now for Cameron
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Nice try, but no cigar. All this says is that LGP within 6' is sufficient for a CG count. It doesn't say it is necessary.
Go check out 9.10.1D. It's ruling is a CG violation when a player is within 6' and says nor implies nothing about LGP.
So again, LGP is not necessary for CG.....but is usually present and is sufficient for a CG count if it is within 6.
Also note that 9.10.1C is for a stationary player. It implies nothing about a moving/dribbling player...where the definition of guarding requires being in the "path" to be guarding. 9.10.1C is merely present to cover the hole with the definition of guarding and its requirement of being in the "path" (which doesn't exist for a stationary player).
|
Please read rule 9.10.1b The situation you site (9.10.1D) is specific for that rule We are discussing 9.10.1A... Good try