Thread: Obstruction
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 10:32am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Excellent point, but it's occurring ON 1B, so is that still considered between Home & 1B.
You clearly stated that the BR took an outside route to avoid F3 and then touched 1B. By rule, the runner is protected between the bases (with few exceptions which do not apply here) where the OBS occurred.

You have every right to protect the runner to 2B. However, if you place a runner back to a base which they passed, you have misapplied the rule.
Reply With Quote