View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 28, 2009, 06:31pm
Texas Aggie Texas Aggie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The approved rulings in the NCAA book have this exact same play, except the ball has come to rest. In those rulings, it was a touchback because the player blocked into the ball didn't touch the ball due to a forced touching, and the impetus on the ball didn't change. Hence, the ball touched behind the goal line without being touched = touchback.

If the ball is bouncing and not at rest, you have to decide the B player is responsible for the touching or not. I would say if the ball is not at rest, the B player needs to be clearly pancaked into the ball for me to rule a forced touching. If he's initiating a block, he isn't "blocked into" the ball. If he's in the general area, he's responsible for the touch.
Reply With Quote