View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 26, 2009, 04:59pm
GA Umpire GA Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
okay, so lets take this a step further. R3 takes off and is going to be dead at home...B/R picks up the ball, would we ever have a situation like this (similar to OP) where R3 is out or do we still call B/R out and send R3 back to 3B?
I am going to guess only if the batter hasn't become a runner yet. Then, BI applies for rule 7.09(c) if less than 2 outs. Simply b/c in OBR, the runner has to intentionally INT with the possibility of a DP to be made. In this case, no DP can be made since the batter was walked.

So, I would have INT on BR with him out and R3 goes back to 3B.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote