View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 26, 2009, 03:07pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
[QUOTE=PeteBooth;610961]
Quote:

Steve Rule 6.06(c) does not apply in this situation

From the OP



Since the ball got passed F2 B1 is no longer "classified" as a batter but an offensive teammate.

Therefore, the rule governing the situation described in the OP is OBR rule 3.15 Comment




Pete Booth
Sorry, Pete, but 3.15 specifically does not apply to offensive team members participating in the game (meaning batters or runners).

And, even if it did apply, while it's interference, that just means the ball is dead and the umpire imposes whatever bases or outs he wants.

I'd go to 2.00-Interference "...impedes ... any fielder attempting to make a play."

I can read the OP in two ways -- the other runners were sufficiently far enough off the base that there was a play, or the action was (reasonably) relaxed and there wasn't a play. The former is interference (and an out); the other is "weak interference" and put everyone back.

Only the OP can decide, sinc he was there.
Reply With Quote