View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 26, 2009, 02:44pm
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
Yes.

[COLOR="Navy"]6.06 (c) He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base. EXCEPTION: Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out, or if runner trying to score is called out for batter’s interference.
Steve Rule 6.06(c) does not apply in this situation

From the OP

Quote:
The batter takes ball four as the pitch is in the dirt and deflects off the catchers shin guard a little ways down the first base line.
Since the ball got passed F2 B1 is no longer "classified" as a batter but an offensive teammate.

Therefore, the rule governing the situation described in the OP is OBR rule 3.15 Comment

Quote:
Rule 3.15 Comment: The question of intentional or unintentional interference shall be decided on the basis of the person’s action. If, however, he kicks the ball or picks it up or pushes it, that is considered intentional interference, regardless of what his thought may have been.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth

Last edited by PeteBooth; Fri Jun 26, 2009 at 02:48pm.
Reply With Quote