Thread: ASA Question
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 18, 2009, 01:19pm
kped kped is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
ASA Question

Last nights game, runner on first, batter hits a line drive back to the pitcher. Ball hits the pitchers glove and bounces off the side. Ends up hitting the runner going from first to second in the back of the leg.

Ruling on the field was runner out for interference. Batter gets first base. Umpires reasoning behind this was because the pitcher is still in the circle, she is not considered a fielder. If she had been out of the circle and touched the ball, then play is still live and no interference would have been called.
Reply With Quote