
Tue Nov 26, 2002, 05:15pm
|
certified Hot Mom tester
|
|
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by macandchris
I am the interpreter of our local board and I have been asked some questions that I did not know the answers to. I would appreciate any feedback from fellow refs on these 2 questions.
1. Team A has the ball out of bounds following a made goal by Team B. The clock is running and there are 4 seconds remaining when Team A has the ball. A1 then throws the ball high into the air to run out the remaining time. The throw does not hit anything and for argument sake, let's say the throw is straight up in the air. Is this a legal play?
|
Yes. I guess I could say it is legal because there is no rule against it (and actually, that is a valid reason), but here's really why. A1 has 5 seconds in which to release the ball toward the court without a violation. Since there are less than 5 seconds to go in the game, there is no violation. Certainly, he can throw the ball up in the air just the same way he could hold the ball.
Quote:
2. A1 (a post player) receives a pass from the wing. He feels pressure on the high side and spin baseline. He power dribbles (pushes the ball to the floor with both hands) and lays it in. Is this a legal play?
|
Also yes. You may start a dribble by pushing the ball to the floor with both hands. If he did it twice, it would be a violation.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
|