Thread: Balk?
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2009, 03:12pm
MrUmpire MrUmpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
But, just because you "shall" do something, does not mean you can't also do something else.
A dangerous argument. The rules also say a batter is awarded a base on four balls. I guess that doesn't mean he can't also be awarded a base on three balls.

I prefer to accept the common usage of the language. The rulesmakers said SHALL, and I believe they meant it.

I understand the lack of specific penalty, nonetheless, by rule they SHALL take signs from the rubber.
Reply With Quote