View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 30, 2000, 04:54pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
It would seem to me that the case book play below is very clear.

7.5.2B. Play: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposel. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. Ruling: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official.

When the play described is identical to the case book play, how can you guys say that you should use your discretion? If the NF wanted this to be a correctable error situation, they would have included it in rule 2-10. What right do you have to make up your own rules? When officials use terms like "game management" to make a case for what is contrary to the rules of the game, you make the game a farce.

Don't compound one mistake by making a second mistake.

Reply With Quote