View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 09, 2009, 11:50am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
I'm with the "second FT unecessary / can't change outcome so don't shoot it" line of thought. But does that mean if the coach T'ed up is winning by three at the horn, then there are no FTs shot at all (or until he gets two 'post-game' T's)?
I don't think it's a stretch to say that many coaches are unaware of this rule.

This would be an interesting scene:

A wins by 3.

Coach A: "We won in spite of you two lousy low-life &*^$^&$'s."

Official: tweet "Technical foul, Coach A."

Scorer: "Do we shoot free throws for that, Mr. Ref?"

Official: "No"

Coach A: "See, he doesn't know what he's doing. %(*&^% idiot!"

Official: tweet "Now we shoot."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote