View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 02:59pm
justanotherblue justanotherblue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
I will not re-instate the force unless the runner touches(passes back) over 1B. If he is heading toward 2B or swings around in foul territory and makes no effort to retouch 1B, I am only calling him out for abandonment which is a timing play.

To re-instate the force without the runner actually making some kind of gesture to retouch is going to cause more problems b/c he didn't actually touch(pass over) the base again. Making that call is grabbing the wrong end since the runner did nothing to re-instate the force.

So, if the runner attempts or actually does retouch 1B, then the force is re-instated. If he doesn't, then abandonment will be called once he reaches HP and the run scores.
You have a good argument with 4.09 and as Rich pointed out, technically it isn't a force at 1B. However I belive you understood what I meant.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote