Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  GA Umpire
					 
				 
				I will not re-instate the force unless the runner touches(passes back) over 1B.  If he is heading toward 2B or swings around in foul territory and makes no effort to retouch 1B, I am only calling him out for abandonment which is a timing play.   
 
To re-instate the force without the runner actually making some kind of gesture to retouch is going to cause more problems b/c he didn't actually touch(pass over) the base again.  Making that call is grabbing the wrong end since the runner did nothing to re-instate the force. 
 
So, if the runner attempts or actually does retouch 1B, then the force is re-instated.  If he doesn't, then abandonment will be called once he reaches HP and the run scores. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 You have a good argument with 4.09 and as Rich pointed out, technically it isn't a force at 1B.  However I belive you understood what I meant.