Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01
Slow Pitch Softball
Home plate umpire calls the batter out for being out of the batter box. (The batter did step up but there was no box being used. )
|
The batter's box is a designated part of the field. ALWAYS. You must have meant that the field was not lined. Whether the field was lined or not, the batter's box is always there. Just like the foul lines are always there.
Quote:
There was a runner on first and second. The umpires met and ruled: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder.
|
How did the ball get to the outfielder? I'm assuming the batter hit the ball to the outfield?
And the umpires are giving the runners two bases....did the ball get thrown into dead ball territory?
There is more to this story that you have not told us .... please clarify.
Why would the batter be given first base when he was declared out for being out of the batter's box? And the other runners were given two bases?
Based on what I gather from the OP, if the ruling was that the batter is out for being out of the box, the ball is dead and all runners are put back, as was already stated. The umpire really should not and must not "overturn" this.
Quote:
The offensive team protests the game. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they straightened it out before the next pitch?
|
Not enough info to answer this.