View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 11:32am
theboys theboys is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 337
Sports Illustrated Kids situation - what's the call?

SI Kids has a section titled "What's the Call?", in which they pose a rules situation about a sport and ask the reader to make the call. They pose a basketball rules question in the June 2009 issue. I'm wondering if they got it right.

Here's the sitch:

The Manitoba Minks and the Calgary Cool are playing a basketball game under NBA rules. After a made free throw by the Minks, Calgary's Jean Giraud takes the ball to throw an inbounds pass. Giraud see his teammate Louis Jenkins breaking away from his defender. But as Giraud leans forward, he accidentally steps on the baseline. Jenkins catches the ball anyway and dribbles upcourt for a basket. Manitoba argues that the basket doesn't count because Giraud stepped on the baseline when he inbounded the ball. You're the official. Is Jenkin's basket good?
__________________
If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning.

- Catherine Aird
Reply With Quote