Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle
Johnnyg08 says "8-2-ART 6(d) states: that a runner MAY NOT RETURN to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if:
1. he has reached a base beyond the base missed or left too soon and the ball becomes dead,
2. he has left the field of play, or
3. a following runner has scored."
What is our mechanic when R1 is attempting to steal second base, the pitched ball is nailed to deep left who makes the catch...R1 had attained second base, sees the catch and reverts to first base when the ball goes dead on an overthrow to F3? He MAY NOT RETURN on this play, correct? But he IS returning, so what do we do? What mechanic(s) is correct here?
|
1) Assuming we're talking about FED rules, it's not clear from your description ("R1 reverts to first when the ball goes dead") whether R1 may return. If, at the time the ball entered DBT, R1 was still on or beyond second, then you are correct -- R1 may not legally return (see 2a, below). If, at the time the ball entered DBT, R1 was between first and second, R1 may return (see 2b below).
2a) (R1 not allowed to legally return) It's not covered,
afaik, in the FED mechanics manual. I would just treat it as any other ball out of play -- "Time. You -- third base." Then watch and see what happens. Even if R1 returns to first, then touches second and advances to third, the defense is allowed to appeal at first. If they do so correctly (and since the ball is dead it won't take much to make a correct appeal), call R1 out.
2b) (R1 allowed to legally return) Treat it as any ball out of play -- "Time. You -- third base." Then watch and see what happens. If R1 touches frist, then second, then third, he has fulfilled his base running responsibilities (on this play) and no appeal will be upheld. If he, for example, turns right around and touches second and then third (without "retouching" first), rule on any appeal.
3) If the rules code is NCAA or OBR, then R1 is allowed to return to first no matter where he is when (at the time that) the ball becomes dead. It's only his actions AFTER the ball becomes dead that might place a restriction on his return.