Thread: Showboat dunk
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 08:44am
Marty Rogers Marty Rogers is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
It is our job as refs to enforce the rules as written.

__________________________________________________ __________

Marty...do you call a backcourt violation when the ball is being passed from A1, in backcourt, to A2 in frontcourt and the ball is still in the air past your 10 count?

To answer your question: Yes, I do call this violation. Invision a very close (or reasonably close) game, not much time left, and one team is pressing full court, trying to cause a turnover. My count gets to 8, 9,...ball is released...ball is in the air... count reaches 10. Tweet.
Sorry, I am not going to take that turnover away from the team performing great defense.

However, I do use common sense (which is probably what you are trying to figure out). If the score is quite lopsided, my count would likely be a little "slower." To me, this is different than the original question of this post. I would allow the hitting of player's own backboard (and catch, shoot, dribble) regardless other game circumstances (score, time left, etc). That action is one I have no "control" over, unless I don't mind blowing the call (as in being wrong).
Reply With Quote