Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
It is our job as refs to enforce the rules as written.
__________________________________________________ __________
Marty...do you call a backcourt violation when the ball is being passed from A1, in backcourt, to A2 in frontcourt and the ball is still in the air past your 10 count?
How bout you BBRef?
Just wondering...
RD
(A little "carry-over" from another thread)
|
No RD, I don't call everything as it is written. I don't think anyone calls everything the way the book is written. There are accepted calls and there are technically unacceptable calls. Call what's not acceptable in your area and you'll find yourself sitting at home. You have to be consistent with what other officials in your area are calling.
If the count was closest enough to 10 that he had just released the ball when I got to 10, I would call it. If I'm counting "...9...10" after he has released the pass, no, I'm not calling it because that's what's consistent with other officials in my area.
Regarding the play in this thread, the exact opposite is true. This isn't about calling the rule as it's written. This is about making something up to call because it looks funny. That's not supported by rule and it's bad.