Thread: Retouch
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 08:08pm
johnnyg08 johnnyg08 is offline
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump Rube View Post
Any time a runner fails to touch-up, they are liable to be put out on appeal. Now in regards to a ball going into DBT. I thought I remember something about runners being unable to retouch after the ball is dead, but I think that might only pertain to runners that have scored. I will defer to those of you who have access to your rulebook to correct me.
Rube, page 48 of the FED book (8-2-ART3) states that: Any runner who misses a base while advancing may not return to touch it after a following runner has scored.

For the answer to my own question and the answer to anybody else out there who cares w/ regard to FED states: (8-2-ART 5) If a runner who misses any base (including home plate) or leaves a base too early, desires to return to touch the base, he must do so immediately. If the ball becomes dead and the runner is on or beyond a succeeding base, he cannot return to the missed base and, therefore, is subject to being declared out upon proper and successful appeal.

NOTE: When a play by its very nature is imminent and is obvious to the offense, defense, and umpire(s), no verbal appeal is necessary, e.g. runner attempting to retouch a base that was missed, or a failure to tag up and a throw has been made to that base or plate while a play is in progress

8-2-ART 6(d) states: that a runner MAY NOT RETURN to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if:

1. he has reached a base beyond the base missed or left too soon and the ball becomes dead,
2. he has left the field of play, or
3. a following runner has scored.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote