Thread: Poor OC
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 06:53pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In an NCAA game I worked as BU a couple of years ago, a runner (advancing on a hit) rounded 3B as the ball came in to F1. F1 turned to see the runner stop about 8 feet down the line and then turned away as the runner began to retreat to 3B. F5 saw the runner returning, recognized that there was no play, and moved back to her normal fielding position.

I'll concede that I don't try to follow every runner back to every base after every play. But I did happen to keep an eye on this runner, even though the entire ballpark knew that the play was over and the runners weren't going anywhere.

In this case, however, the runner stopped momentarily in mid-stride one step before 3B, and with her left leg raised, pulled up her sock before taking the last step onto the bag.

The defensive coach wanted an out on the LBR (second stop after F1 got possession). My immediate impulse was to say, "You gotta be kidding." I then considered, "I didn't see it." But I decided on, "I thought she kept moving, Coach. Never quite stopped completely." He didn't pursue the matter, but according to the rule book, he was right.

I admit that I chose the ballpark call over the rule book call.

(NCAA's LBR is not exactly the same as ASA's, but it wouldn't differ on that play.)
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote