Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
In this situation, what was called in the OP was a case of "rulebook right, ballfield wrong," IMHO.
|
Last year at The So-cal 18gold regional the UIC said something to me that makes since. "You can never be wrong for making a call supported by the book".
In no way did I make a quick call on this. I never do, but at some point you have to make the call and then be ready to explain your ruling.
IMHO it would have been easy to turn a blind eye to this play, but then I may have been the cause of one team winning over the other. Instead it was the coach.